de

About AT2OA

General

Description:

The goal of the “Austrian Transition to Open Access” (AT2OA) project is to support the large-scale transformation of scientific publications from Closed to Open Access, and to implement measures supporting this initiative. AT2OA consists of the following 4 Subprojects:

Project Duration:

01.01.2017 - 31.12.2020

Project Leaders:

Mag. Maria Seissl, University of Vienna, maria.seissl@univie.ac.at
Mag. Brigitte Kromp, University of Vienna, brigitte.kromp@univie.ac.at

Subproject 1 (TP1): Impact analysis of the transition to Open Access

Description:

The subproject will examine if Austria can achieve a complete transition from the existing Subscription (Closed Access) model to Open Access without additional costs. In addition, it will look at how the transition to Open Access may impact information resources budgets, and which institutions may face additional costs, or a reduction in expenditure, as a result of a complete transition to Open Access when compared to the current licensing model.
Furthermore, a concept for the monitoring of Open Access publication outputs based on international best practice models will be developed.

Deliverables:

Leader:

Mag. Georg Fessler, Vienna University of Economics and Business, georg.fessler@wu.ac.at
Deputy: Mag. Bruno Bauer, Medical University of Vienna, bruno.bauer@meduniwien.ac.at

Subproject 2 (TP2): Funding for transitional Open Access business models

Description:

Within the framework of the Austrian Academic Library Consortium (Kooperation E-Medien Österreich - KEMÖ), the Austrian university libraries work together with 40 scientific institutions to acquire affordable electronic resources through coordinated procurement. For the last two years, focus has been put on concluding contracts with publishers where the transition from the subscription model to Open Access is as close to cost-neutral as possible.
Thus far, the following three models have either been tested or developed by the libraries:

It is envisaged that such transformative agreements will be supported by central means, taking into consideration the findings of the analysis of Subproject 1. Building on experience gleaned from pilot projects, the existing models will be evaluated during the course of the project. The sustainability of these agreements will be given particular attention in the analysis.

Deliverables:

Leader:

Mag. Brigitte Kromp, University of Vienna, brigitte.kromp@univie.ac.at
Deputy: Dr. Frank Koren-Wilhelmer, University of Graz, frank.koren@uni-graz.at

Subproject 3 (TP3): Establishment, expansion and financial support for OA publication funds

Description:

Open Access publication funds are necessary for the implementation of Open Access policies and for the targeted support of Open Access publications. Local publication funds have a consolidating role at the institute and can help facilitate the transformation process towards Open Access. The project will therefore promote the establishment and expansion of local publication funds and provide financial support. The aim is to ensure the sustainability of local funds, to increase transparency, and to strategically harmonise key aspects of the funding guidelines.

Deliverables:

Leader:

Mag. Christof Capellaro, University of Salzburg, christof.capellaro@sbg.ac.at
Deputy: Christian Kaier, University of Graz, christian.kaier@uni-graz.at

Subproject 4 (TP4): Promotion of OA publications and alternative OA publication models

Description:

As a way to counterbalance the market dominance of publishers, the project will initiate alternative publication models at the universities, while support will be provided for such initiatives. For example:

Deliverables:

Leader:

Mag. Andreas Ferus, Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, a.ferus@akbild.ac.at